athènes grèce

  greece grecia greece



Cyclades islands : Amorgos

Amorgos is the most western island of the Cyclades archipelago.
It extends on 121 km² for about 1.800 inhabitants. It has always been a "sterile island", also called Yperia, Patagy, Pagali, Psichia, and Karkisia.

The island was inhabited in the Neolithic age, but during the Cycladic period (3000-2000 BC) Amorgos has its golden age. Populated by the Ionian ones, three independent cities with an autonomous constitution and the same currency coexisted.
Many traces of this time were found: walls surrounding the town of Arkesini, ancient towers, skeletons and tombs, tools, inscriptions, ... and others showing the importance of the ancient civilization of Amorgos.
On a part of the island called Aspis, the ancient temple of the Aphrodite goddess. One thinks that the island was colonized by Crete people, traces of Minoan occupation were found.
During antiquity Amorgos was dominated by Naxos and Samos.

There are two ports on its western coast: Katapola and Órmos Aighiális. The main town, called Chora or Amorgos, is at 320 m of altitude.
The Krikellos Mount in the East of Aighiali culminates at 821 m. The island is famous for its monastery of Chozoviotissa built on a cliff.
Some scenes of the Great Blue of Luc Besson were turned in Chora and at the foot of the monastery in 1987.


See also :



Greece - Photos of Greece

© Grè 2018 - All rights reserved, any reproduction is forbidden